Berwick War Memorial

In 1919 a group of prominent community figures formed a committee to arrange for the construction of a War Memorial in Berwick. It was to be dedicated to those soldiers who had lost their lives in the service of their country during the Great War and who had some connection with Berwick. The location selected… Read More

Berwick RSL

Opening Ceremony plaque Transcription The Berwick RSL New Clubrooms / (RSL Est. 1919) / were officially opened on 3 October 1993 / by / Bruce C Ruxton OBE / State President Victoria / Returned & Services League of Australia / President KE Newitt / Honorary Secretary / HM Samuel JP Berwick Grammar School Boer War… Read More

La Trobe Tetley Anzac Student Prize

Announced 23 April 2012 by Laura Smyth (La Trobe MP). The La Trobe Tetley Anzac Student Prize commemorates Arthur Norman Tetley, from Berwick who served in the 8th Light Horse and took part in the Anzac charge at the Nek on the Gallipoli peninsula in 1915. Arthur was seriously wounded at Lone Pine and died… Read More

Beaconsfield War Memorial

Transcription (front) Sic G H Manning Cpl A R Bragg Pte L Christie Pte J Osborne Pte J F Tucker Dvr H J Harbour Bmbr A G Childs Pte E Dineley Spr H McNaughton Erected as a tribute to the men who enlisted from Beaconsfield & district and in memory of those who have made… Read More